The 2nd International Conference on Biological Waste as Resource 2017 (BWR2017) (Offcial Page)


25 -28 May 2017 -  Z Core, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr. Huan Zhong (Nanjing University)Conference Committees


Conference Chair


Dr. Daniel C.W. Tsang (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

Prof. Yong Sik Ok (Kangwon National University)

Honorary Chair
Prof. Ming Hung Wong (The Education University of Hong Kong)


Organizing Committee

Prof. Chi Sun Poon (Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

Prof. Xiang-dong Li (Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

Prof. Jonathan W.C. Wong (Hong Kong Baptist University)

Prof. Irene M.C. Lo (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Dr. Carol S.K. Lin (City University of Hong Kong)

Dr. Kaimin Shih (University of Hong Kong)

Dr. Henry P.H. Lee (Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

Dr. Ben S.Y. Leu (Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

Dr. Mark S.C. Hsu (Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

Mr. Victor C. Li (Hong Kong Waste Management Association)

Ir. Elvis W.K. Au (Hong Kong Institution of Engineers, Environmental Division)

Ir. Barry C.H. Lee (Institution of Mechanical Engineers, Hong Kong)

Ir. Alfred C.K. Lee (Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management, Hong Kong)

Ir. Kenny S.W. Wong (Hong Kong Productivity Council)

Ir. Jude C.P. Chow (Associated Engineers Ltd, Hong Kong)


International Advisory Board (listed in alphabetical order)

Prof. Jacob de Boer (Vrijie University Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Prof. Jiri Klemes (Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic)

Prof. Xiang-dong Li (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

Prof. Xiao-yan Li (The University of Hong Kong)

Prof. Irene M.C. Lo (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Prof. Ashok Pandey (Centre for Innovative and Applied Bioprocessing, India)

Prof. Chi Sun Poon (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

Mr Kam Sing Wong (Secretary for the Environment, Environment Bureau, Hong Kong SAR Government)

Prof. Ming Hung Wong (The Education University of Hong Kong)


Scientific Committee (listed in alphabetical order)


Dr. Daniel Alessi (University of Alberta)
Prof. Kitae Baek (Chonbuk National University)
Prof. Nanthi Bolan (Global Centre for Environmental Remediation)
Dr. Xinde Cao (Shanghai Jiaotong University)
Ir. Louis Chan (Specialist Environmental Solutions Limited, Hong Kong)
Ir. Jude C.P. Chow (Associated Engineers Ltd, Hong Kong)
Dr. Jinli Cui (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)
Dr. Shiming Ding (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Dr. Chenyu Du (University of Huddersfield)
Dr. Gijs du Laing (Ghent Univeristy)
Dr. Xinbin Feng (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Prof. Yohey Hashimoto (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)
Dr. Deyi Hou (Tsinghua University)
Dr. Zeng-Yei Hseu (National Taiwan University)
Dr. Changwei Hu (Sichuan University)
Dr. Andrew Hunt (The University of York)
Mr. David Jackson (Black & Veatch, Hong Kong)
Dr. Rong Ji (Nanjing University)
Dr. Chuanyong Jing (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Prof. Chih-Ming Kao (National Sun Yat-Sen University)
Prof. Eakalak Khan (North Dakota State University)
Dr. Samir Khanal (University of Hawaii-Manoa)
Mr. Mike Kilburn (Airport Authority Hong Kong)
Prof. Ki-Hyun Kim (Hanyang University)
Dr. Geonha Kim (Hannam University)
Prof. Anna Knox (Savannah River National Laboratory)
Dr. Michael Komárek (Czech University of Life Sciences Prague)
Dr. Harn Wei Kua (National University of Singapore)
Prof. Eilhann Kwon (Sejong University)
Ir. Alfred Lee (Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management, Hong Kong)
Prof. Domen Lestan (University of Ljubljana)
Dr. Shuang Li (South China University of Technology)
Mr. Victor Li (Dunwell Group, Hong Kong)
Dr. Carol Lin (The City University of Hong Kong)
Prof. Daohui Lin (Zhejiang University)
Prof. Rafael Luque (Universidad de Cordoba)
Dr. Tomoyuki Makino (National Institute for Agro-Environmental Sciences)
Dr. Brian Y.B. Man (The Education University of Hong Kong)
Prof. Mark Milke (University of Canterbury)
Dr. How Yong Ng (National University of Singapore)
Dr. Patryk Oleszczuk (Maria Curie-Sklodowska University in Lublin)
Prof. Daniel Pleissner (Leuphana University of Lüneburg)
Dr. Jörg Rinklebe (University of Wuppertal)
Prof. Roger Ruan (University of Minnesota)
Prof. Ajit Sarmah (The University of Auckland)
Dr. Kaimin Shih (The University of Hong Kong)
Dr. Hocheol Song (Sejong University)
Dr. Zhishan Su (Sichuan University)
Prof. Filip Tack (Ghent University)
Prof. Xiang-yu Tang (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Prof. Yuanyuan Tang (Southern University of Science and Technology)
Dr. Chris Y.F. Tsang (The Education University of Hong Kong)
Prof. Marjorie Valix (The University of Sydney)
Dr. Sunita Varjani (Indian Institute of Advanced Research)
Dr. Chi-Hwa Wang (National University of Singapore)
Prof. Hailong Wang (Foshan University)
Ir. Kenny Wong (Hong Kong Productivity Council)
Dr. Weixiang Wu (Zhejiang University)
Dr. Baoshan Xing (University of Massachusetts)
Dr. Kun Yang (Zhejiang University)
Dr. Xin Yang (Sun Yat-Sen University)
Prof. Jing You (Jinan University)
Prof. Gerald Zagury (Polytechnique Montreal)
Dr. Shicheng Zhang (Fudan University)
Prof. Weihua Zhang (Sun Yat-Sen University)
Dr. Huan Zhong (Nanjing University)
Dr. Dongqiang Zhu (Peking University)

gallery/polyu full logo



gallery/knu logo
gallery/hkedu logo
gallery/hkwma logo

Supporting Organisations

gallery/cweim logo
gallery/hkie logo
gallery/imehche logo

Funding Support

gallery/ecf logo
gallery/k.c. wong logo